Add and remove admins from your group chat on Workplace Chat

If you’re an admin of a group chat on Workplace Chat, you can add and remove other admins.
To add or remove an admin from your group chat using Workplace in a desktop browser:
  1. In the menu on the right of the group chat, hover over the name of the person you’re adding or removing as an admin.
  2. Click the three dots More to the right.
  3. Click Make admin or Remove as admin.
  4. Click Make admin or Remove to confirm.
To add or remove an admin from your group chat using the Workplace Chat desktop app:
  1. Click Chat options at the top right of your chat.
  2. Click the three dots to the right of the name of the person you’re adding or removing as an admin.
  3. Click Make admin or Remove as admin.
  4. Click Make admin or Remove as admin to confirm.
What happens if a group chat admin leaves the chat?
If all admins of group chat leave the chat, then the person who has been in the chat the longest automatically becomes the new admin.
If you’re in a group chat and the admin has had their Workplace account deactivated, then anyone in the chat can select Make admin next to their own name in the members list. When someone does this, other chat members won’t be able to make themselves an admin.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No